2

3

4

5

6

The Oxford dictionary defines the uncanny as ‘strange or mysterious, especially in an unsettling way’. While this is a good description of the uncanny, I personally, would define it as ‘familiar yet unfamiliar leading to discomfort’.

In order to portray this feeling through photos, I took six pictures of a small angel sculpture in both natural and studio light.

I personally think most religious paraphernalia has an inherent uncanniness to it and I worked to magnify this through the use of lighting and setting.

The different lighting worked especially well to bring out the uncanniness of the objects, casting distorted shadows and turning the angel strange colours.

To add another layer of uncanniness to the photos I tried to make each location mostly ambiguous to achieve a certain sense of displacement.

