I hadn’t really heard of the term cine-roman before this project but in learning what it was I thought how hard could it be? Very hard is the answer, or at least harder than I anticipated. As it turns out expressing narrative and motion through only still images and sound takes a lot of planning and preparation.

A beautiful example of a cine-roman done effectively is the 1962 film ‘La Jetée’. The film effectively uses sound and images to express a cohesive narrative. This is what I hoped to achieve in my own project.

To find inspiration I went on William Gibson’s twitter. I found a tweet he had retweeted, by pourmecoffee that read “This may be the most 2015-y headline so far this year http://bgr.com/2015/04/22/robot-buys-ecstasy-with-bitcoin-arrested/ …” with the following picture

CDPfLbXWAAAror2

This tweet made me think about if technology was transferred in the same way as drugs were sold. My original concept was to take photos of a scene that looked like a drug deal but it was technology being sold. This idea didn’t work out as well as I hoped it would so I changed to a slightly different concept.

In the end I decided to have the technology do the dealing and have it be more comical.

The final product didn’t turn out exactly as I thought it would but never the less I am still quite happy with it.

