This week I am supposed to talk about opportunities available in my field. I expect this to be difficult because back in my first post I never really chose a practice.

I guess the best place to start is by reviewing the type of field I think I’ll go into. As a Digital Media and Communications major I expect it will rely on the internet. I have a passion for writing, and I enjoy photography, and when it comes down to it I can see myself doing almost anything as a career. There are obviously some jobs I’m not going to end up in, like I’m not suddenly going to be a doctor or a lawyer, but for the most part I’m pretty open.

The timing of having to write this post is slightly fortuitous, as I recently went to see a career consultant. Going to the consultant was extremely helpful, because although I still don’t have a clear idea of what I want to do, I am more aware of opportunities. In the consultation, I spoke about liking the structure of university, and I was made aware of the multitude of graduate programs available. As I am graduating this year, graduate programs seem like an excellent idea because they will allow me to try out many different roles within a company without being tied to one thing. I now have two books profiling the top 100 graduate programs in Australia, which have been a great way to get an overview of the kinds of things that are available.

Another important thing is gaining experience before I graduate, which is what internships are great for. The university itself offers a career ready subject, which gives students information and skills, as well as helping them get an internship. I am enrolling in this subject for the next semester so hopefully this will help me gain experience. There are also websites dedicated to jobs in the media and arts, such as the loop and artshub, which list full-time and part-time jobs, as well as internships.

Overall , I still don’t really know what I’m doing but by doing this research and talking to a career consultant I now at least have a starting point.

