In my last post, I explored the concepts behind my project, and in this post I hope to pitch in practical terms what it is I will be doing.

To put it very simply, the idea behind my project is that I want to recontextualise an everyday form of communication, in order to explore the importance context has, and if a different context changes the message.

A brainstorming season in class today made me really realize the two main elements I want my project to have. I want it to be a dialogue between the historical and the contemporary, and I want to be be a dialogue between the digital and the material. This is especially relevant, as in class recently we have been talking a lot about “materialising the digital”, and how the actually making of something can be just as important as the planning.

IMG_1822

With all of this in mind, I have thought of a couple of different projects that would explore these concepts;

  • Using emojis to recreate official documents

Emojis have fast become a prominent form of communication. Although at a glance these small images may seem silly, to many people they are capable of expressing extremely complex feelings and emotions, some of which people may actually find easier to communicate through emojis rather than words. This is juxtaposed by many official documents such as birth certificates, arrest warrants, even wedding invitations. Official documents often use language that can be almost indecipherable to many people. Official documents also have a much higher cultural importance than messages sent online, especially those messages that use emojis. It would be interesting to combine the two, in order to investigate if one would would legitimise or de-legitimise the other.

  • Hand writing a twitter feed in the form of letters to pen pal

Twitter is often seen as a place for frivolous thoughts, as tweets can be posted from anywhere, at anytime, with no planning. Handwritten letters on the other hand are seen as having a higher cultural value because they take more time to produce and deliver. The two forms are also different in their reach, in that a letter is usually for only one person, whereas public tweet feeds can be read by anyone. This project would investigate how differently we use these two forms of communication, and if the same message is changed when presented in a different way.
Overall, I am excited to start on this project because I think the things I find out along the way will help the project change and develop as I go. I’m also interested to see if I will start thinking differently about the ways I communicate and the importance I place on different forms.

