Godzilla or Pacific Rim? Who can really tell…

Digital Asia

While I’d consider my media interests diverse, I must acknowledge they are almost entirely western. I don’t shy away from subtitles, but they’re usually attached to some arty french film or a late night scandi crime drama on SBS. It’s not that I’m completely uninterested in Asian media, it’s mostly that I just don’t know where to start. My previous experience of any Asian media is the anime K-On! (2009), which I’ve watched an embarrassing amount of times, and I only found it because it came on the ABC when nothing else was on television. Even with this as my experience, It’s almost impossible to have completely no knowledge of Godzilla (1954). In fact, one of my favourite films, Pacific Rim (2013), is heavily based on Godzilla.

View original post 353 more words

